Subtle QB racism, or am I thinking too much?

Posted: April 28, 2007 in NFL Draft
Tags: , ,

Background first – So I had two surgeries this week, one for POTENTIAL melanoma on my back (very small) and the other a scheduled procedure to straighten my deviated septum (full gas and good pain meds). Since each requires absolutely sedentary recovery, I have watched a lot of movies, written a lot in my journal, and listened to tons of NFL Draft talk. LOTS of free time…

Color me over-sensitive, but I finally had enough of the insouciant banter when ESPNU began their 11pm Draft Eve coverage comparing QB’s Brady Quinn (right) and JaMarcus Russell. Every positive adjective for Russell mentioned “upside” and “strongest arm”, whereas Quinn was “cerebral” and “seasoned”. I couldn’t help but think two things.

Brady Quinn

  1. Only a select few people can speak with credibility about the mental makeup of either athlete, and they weren’t on this show.
  2. The time-honored tradition of applying physical characteristics to African-Americans and mental attributes to the Anglo-Saxon/Caucasian player, especially at the quarterback position.

Question is – am I right on, or are the meds making me overreact?

I would have hoped that the national sports discussion regarding Jackie Robinson’s legacy would be fresh in the media mind, but I thought maybe this old platitude remained in the collective. So I decided to compare some physical evidence first, then infer the real story on these guys. This is far from a scientific study, and the inflammatory race talk has already worn me out. See the Google spreadsheet published here, stats courtesy of CFBStats.com.

Smart QBs do not throw a lot of picks and complete a high percentage of passes, right? Brady Quinn gave it away only 1.5% of the time, whereas JaMarcus was much more charitable. OK, mental edge to Quinn there.

How about TD/int ratio, a nice combo of big plays to bad decisions? Quinn crushes Russell again when you combines the past two years, 69TD/14INT to 43/17 for the Tiger. Advantage Quinn.

Completion percentage? Both have been consistently in the 60’s, lets call it a push.

History is littered with guys who can throw a football though a carwash and it came out dry – but they weren’t quarterbacks. Russell showed up at his workout day over 260 pounds, and appears to have never turned away a plate of jambalaya. He is just a big guy – I read an anonymous quote from a scout Quinn is cut like a razor (above) , and I have to expect a Freedom of Information Act request against me based on some of the sites hosting this topless picture.

Anyone have Pete Townsend’s lawyer? Shaq’s contact info? No?

Seriously, I watched a lot of JaMarcus in 2006, and his arm strength looks at least as strong as Mike Vick’s, although those comparisons are not as flattering as they used to be. While carrying a little babyfat, he is much more elusive than Jared Lorenzen. Edge, Russell on the physical tools although not by much.

When you factor out race, creed, religion and all other factors (like Dennis Miller opined, get to know someone first then you will find really good reasons to hate them!), it seems only one stat matters. College starts. To Football Outsiders QB Preview…

Over the past ten years, collegiate games started has been the single greatest predictor of NFL success for early first-round quarterbacks. Since 1997 seven quarterbacks who started fewer than 30 games in college have been drafted in the top ten: Ryan Leaf, Tim Couch, Akili Smith, Michael Vick, David Carr, Joey Harrington, Alex Smith. Who’s the best player on that list? Michael Vick? Alex Smith? I don’t even know. All I know is that list does not leave me saying, “I gotta get me some of that.”

What have I learned today? That I am being extra sensitive, and that could be based on Mr. Limbaugh’s narc of choice dulling my wits. Or it could be my curmudgeonly old age.

My pick? I like Quinn if I need a guy for this September, Russell if I have a veteran I trust (or have invested heavily in) who can tutor or lead him.

Comments
  1. Ron says:

    You’re forgetting one thing: Brady Quinn went to Notre Dame, a private institution that is incredibly difficult to get into (even for athletes). JaMarcus Russell went to LSU, where anyone with a pulse can matriculate.

  2. Yapo says:

    You’re on drugs!?! Give me some!

    I digress…
    I agree. Brady Quinn is a better pro-QB investment.

    He has both the ingredients (commitment, experience under a microscope of rabid fans and adjustment to coaching changes) and comfort-level in the upper lifestyle that corrupts many pro-athletes that aren’t familiar with it.

  3. When I think of quarterback racism, I think of how Mike Vick has gotten away with being a sub-part quarterback for so many seasons, yet not only does no one call him on it, they act like he is some kind of incredible quarterback. Geesh.

  4. MaliBuckeye says:

    Good thoughts, but I would also argue that Quinn’s stats were against a very questionable Notre Dame schedule (brother is 17-19 as a starter if you don’t count his wins against the service academies or Stanford, and Notre Dame is 0-5 in their last 5 games against top 10 opponents) while Russell’s stats came in the SEC.

    And as a Buckeye fan, I can personally attest to how difficult SEC defenses can make things for QBs.

  5. Somewhere on this blog archives is a call for Mike Vick to move to RB and be one of the best ever at that position. I am not a fan of his game at all, and you won’t hear mainstream media call him out except for his completion percentage because he is so heavily promoted by the league.

  6. Daniel says:

    Not over-sensitive. Especially when looking at the physical attributes. Seems everytime they mention Russell they compare him with Daunte Culpepper (although Culpepper of 10 yrs ago was way more mobile and had more touch on his passes). Actually I like the Jared Lorenzen comp to Russell better.

    New Miami coach Cam Cameron obviously has been sharing your drug prescription. The most overrated coach in football history takes Ted Ginn early, and takes Hawaii RB Reagan Mauia in the 6th round. OK so he got it right with John Beck in Rd 2….but the Fish are in trouble

Leave a comment